A challenge to start the week…

I originally found this post at Blogging Theologically and felt challenged. I’m already a fairly committed reader, but felt especially challenged especially considering the tremendous amount of quality, classic Christian material that is available for free on the internet to read (See the links on my website).  I encourage you to read this brother’s post and consider setting aside some time each day to read…Paul.

When I was a kid, I always loved to read. In reading, I found some of my moments of greatest joy.

And honestly, I was, and continue to be a voracious reader.

This weekend while we were in Grand Bend with my in-laws, we were talking about books. Emily had mentioned that while I was away I had something like four or five show up in the mail from blogger review programs and contests. My mother-in-law, Mary, asked a great question:

How on earth do you actually find the time to read as much as you do?

I love the questions my mother-in-law asks. They always get me to think, and I greatly appreciate that.

Here’s the answer: I try to set aside at least 30-45 minutes a day to read.

The average person reads between 250 and 300 words per minute (although figures vary), which works out to roughly 3/4 to one page each minute. That said, I don’t (usually) keep track of the number of pages read, just my time. I do have a lot of things on the go with family, work, writing, and study, that it can be overwhelming to try to add anything into my days.

But, just like my personal study time in the morning, my reading time is one of the few chunks of time I try to guard. For me, this time is immensely helpful for my mental, emotional and spiritual health. I don’t do well with large groups of people for extended periods of time, but getting that time of solitude with a book refreshes and recharges me.

So, here’s my challenge for you:

Set aside 30 minutes every day for the next week and read… well, read whatever will be beneficial for you.

So if you like marketing books, read a good marketing book. Buy•ology is one.

Fiction? Try a Nick Hornby book (personally, I like High Fidelity).

Theology? My goodness…

You get the idea.

But here’s the point: 30 minutes a day is not a lot of time. It’s anywhere between 20-30 pages a day. To put it in perspective, that’s roughly one 200 page book in a week.

Imagine what could change in your life. You might find you have more to talk about with your spouse. You might watch a little less TV. You might spend a little less time on the internet.

And you’ll most definitely find yourself growing in a really positive way.

Take up the challenge. Let me know what you’re reading and keep me up to date on your progress in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “A challenge to start the week…

  1. Amen. I do the majority of my reading during my commute (35 to 40 minutes each way). I’ll read around 4 to 7 books a month without ever sitting down to read (unless I’m lucky and get a seat on the subway). My favorite aspect of living in the City.

  2. That is an excellent way to take advantage of time that could otherwise be wasted…I recently bought an MP3 player and listen to audio books while I drive to and from work, about 20-25 minutes both ways…there’s lots of options to make the most of times like that to read.

Leave a Reply

